TechnoBuzz

A Techno Blog, mainly about Java

A Roller 4.o experience

Just last week, I learned about what’s new with Roller in 4.0

Thought it was finally time to try my own installation after being a one time user of this Roller platform on JRoller as user on http://www.jroller.com/interjavanet/ . I had forgotten my password over on that blog, and it did not seem to be stright forward on how you get your password reset.

Did I mention that Roller is now on Apache at http://roller.apache.org ?

They have their own wiki now at http://cwiki.apache.org/confluence/display/ROLLER

Anyway, I am using the mysql database (5.0.41 community edition) with roller 4
(apache-roller-src-4.0-rc9) which i placed in Tomcat’s webapps directory naming the folder roller4_0 .

I am using tomcat 5.5 with java5.

Setup: Tomcat’s common/classes folder have placed file roller-custom.properties:
installation.type=auto
database.configurationType=jdbc
database.jdbc.driverClass=com.mysql.jdbc.Driver
database.jdbc.connectionURL=jdbc:mysql://localhost:3306/rollerdb
database.jdbc.username=root
database.jdbc.password=admin
mail.configurationType=properties
mail.hostname=smtp-server.nc.rr.com
mail.username=x
mail.password=x

Important: You need to put the mysql driver, and two other jars into Tomcats’s common/lib directory:

  • mysql-connector-java-3.1.13-bin
  • activation (obtained from my java 5 lib folder)
  • mail (obtained from my java 5 lib folder)

 

AFter starting Tomcat, I go to the main screen via url http://localhost:8080/roller4_0/index.jsp

which says I have a successful connection but have no tables . So I click the button to create the tables.

image01.jpg

Then, I get the page to create users and the blog.
image002.jpg

References :

November 25, 2007 - Posted by | Blogging, Struts, SW Tools

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

